Bible Periods

Within Biblical history there are a series of three successive chronologically successive dispensation or bible periods.  

It’s a common misconception that the entire Bible is written to us and applies entirely to us. However, that is incorrect. 

Yes, it is true that the Holy Bible is written for us, as a divine source of how we should live our lives, but not all of it is addressed to us. 

Therefore, studying dispensation is an important part of Bible study as it allows to rightly divide the word.

Just like the Children of Israel were not Christians and not under Grace, rather they were under The Law of Moses as they lived in a different dispensation from us.

The main point is that God has had different rules for different groups of people in different eras and not only may the rules be different the punishment for not following the rules may be different too.  

Our 3 Periods of Dispensation

Period 1- The Patriarchal Dispensation

The Patriarchal or Promise Dispensation gets its name from the father. Patriarch means father. This dispensation grew out of the promise made to Abraham.

God spoke to the head of the family, and he, in turn, spoke to the members of the family. The title of Patriarch is applied to Abraham.

The Promise Dispensation grew out of the promise made to Abraham in Genesis. from the call of Abraham to the giving of the law to Moses for the children of Israel – This dispensation applied only to Abraham and his descendants

through his son, Isaac, and Isaac’s son, Jacob (Israel).

It lasted from about 2000 BC to about 1500 BC is covered in the scriptures from Genesis.

God promised Abraham that He would give land to Abraham’s seed and that all the nations of the world would be blessed by his seed. Although Israel went under the law described below around 1500 BC, the promise God made to Abraham is still in effect.

Period 2 – The Jewish or Mosaic Dispensation

The Mosaical dispensation or Law, applied from the giving of the law to Moses for the children of Israel to the calling of Paul, the apostle of the Gentiles (those not of Israel)

This dispensation applied only to Jacob’s descendants, Israel. It began about 1500 BC and lasted until it began to fade away about 37 AD and stopped in 70 AD.

The book of Acts is a book of transition from law to grace. During the period covered by Acts 9 to 28, we see the grace dispensation coming in and the law dispensation fading away.

God chose Israel as the apple of His eye. He gave Israel strict laws, harsh punishments, and prophecies of worldwide prominence in the future kingdom of their coming Messiah.

Unlike the Patriarchal Dispensation, during the Mosaic Dispensation, the Jews had their own written law. Abraham’s descendants, in their exit from Egypt, were led to the foot of Mt. Sinai, and God gave to them the ten commandments written upon two tables of stone.

One weakness of the Law of Moses was that there was no forgiveness, you simply had to follow all 10 of the Commandments to do good by God.

The wages of sin is death you had to give a blood sacrifice to have your individual sins forgiven.

We, humans, sin without knowing and the other thing is that on the day of Atonement we had to have the High Preist represent us for the sins that we were not aware of and hope that God approved.  

However, just wait we serve a mighty God and the best dispensation is yet to come. 

Period 3 – Christian Dispensation

The Christian or Grace Dispensation. This period extends from The Day of Pentecost A.D. 30 (Acts 2) until to Christ’s final return.

This period is the time began after Christ died on Calvery, he paid the price, or atoned for our sins, so no longer we required to offer up blood sacrifices to attain forgiveness, Jesus was that ultimate sacrifice. 

I am so thankful that we are now residing in the Christian Dispensation, and just have to accept that Jesus is Lord and that he died so that we may have everlasting life. 

So in the Christian Dispensation must do the will of Christ, simply abide by word as is indicated in the New Testament. We are currently living under Grace or the Christian Dispensation. 


In conclusion, since the cross, man has been saved by simply believing on the Lord Jesus Christ, in whom revelation and redemption came into effect. So even though we are no longer under Law but we should live by the rules of the 10

commandments. While we may not be doomed for not following all 10 strictly like you had to in the days of Moses, you still can’t go out and kill another person you still have to be obedient to the word.  Please keep in mind that the new

dispensation does not disregard the previous one it simply means that we must observe the truth, the new dispensation simply just swallows up the prior dispensation.   


IF YOU LIKE THIS POST? Then…Sign up for updates and never miss a blog post.


(Visited 118 times, 1 visits today)

Please note: I reserve the right to delete comments that are offensive or off-topic.

Leave a Reply

Be the First to Comment!

Notify of