Traits of the kind of people who would be blessed by God

In the Sermon on the Mount—the longest continuous section of speaking found in the New Testament, the 8 Beatitudes of Jesus were introduced.

The Beatitudes are eight blessings narrated by Jesus in the Sermon on the Mount in the Gospel of Matthew.

Each Beatitude consists of two phrases: the condition and the result. In almost every case the condition is from familiar Old Testament context, but Jesus teaches a new interpretation. 

#1 – Blessed are the poor in spirit: for theirs is the kingdom of Heaven.

Matthew 5:3 – God promises to help the poor in spirit. So when you feel helpless, afflicted, powerless to solve a problem, lacking education and money, God will be there for you.

#2 – Blessed are those who mourn: for they will be comforted.

Matthew 5:4 – When you are deep in sadness, crushed with disappointments in life God will comfort you.

#3 – Blessed are the meek: for they will inherit the earth. 

Matthew 5:5 – Be meek like Jesus and like Moses. A meek person trusts God and accepts today’s circumstances as Gods best for them even in the most frightening of circumstances. 

#4 – Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness: for they will be filled.

Matthew 5:6 – Eagerly desire or crave righteousness-for it is holy upright living, aim to conform to God’s standard. 

#5 – Blessed are the merciful: for they will be shown mercy.

Matthew 5:7 – Be kind, even to those who treat you without respect. To be merciful is to forgive. God is kind to us even though sometimes we treat him without any respect.

#6 – Blessed are the pure in heart: for they will see God.

Matthew 5:8 – Simply put approach life with innocence and without blame.

#7 – Blessed are the peacemakers: for they will be called children of God.

Matthew 5:9Strive for peace. Peacemakers do not look for reasons to complain or say bad things rather they do all they can to avoid fights and arguments.   

#8 – Blessed are those who are persecuted for righteousness sake: for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.

Matthew 5:10  – Continue to do right but remember that you still will be teased, harassed, harmed and or bothered by others because you are now a Servant of the Kingdom. Remember in John 15:20 Jesus said, 

A servant is not greater than his master. If they persecuted me, they will persecute you also.

You will have a great reward when you suffer for the Lord. Rejoice in that day and leap for joy, because great is your reward in heaven said, Jesus.

In conclusion, the Beatitudes are at the core of Christ’s teaching and they reveal the goal of human existence.

They fulfill the promise made to the Jewish people by pointing beyond earthly happiness to the eternal happiness of heaven. The reward promised in each of the Beatitudes is primarily heaven. 

The word “blessed” means “happy.”

IF YOU LIKE THIS POST? Then…Sign up for updates and never miss a blog post.

(Visited 109 times, 1 visits today)

Please note: I reserve the right to delete comments that are offensive or off-topic.

Leave a Reply

Be the First to Comment!

Notify of